Impaired or drunk driving is strictly prohibited in Bergen County and all across New Jersey due to numerous motor vehicle crashes that have been linked to such dangerous behaviors. A person charged with driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated is likely to face serious fines and penalties, including higher insurance premiums, license revocation and other life-altering consequences.
In Keansburg, New Jersey, south of Bergen County, one man was recently arrested on DWI charges for the third time in just one week. Police officers chased the 46-year-old suspected drunk driver on the streets of Keansburg before he crashed into a fire hydrant. The chase started after the police recognized the driver's plates, which were involved in previous DUI arrests in the area.
The driver was charged with another DWI, eluding police officers and other motor vehicle citations. Bail was set at $20,000.
The suspected drunk driver is in a serious situation due to previous DUI arrests, leading to tougher charges. For first time DUI offenders, they can be charged with a misdemeanor. A repeated arrest can lead to serious charges such as felony DUI. Conviction from a felony DUI can lead to more serious fines and penalties compared to conviction due to a misdemeanor.
The only way to fight the charges is to establish a strong DUI or DWI defense. Dealing with the case alone can cut costs, but the chances of proving one's innocence is quite slim through self representation. Legal professionals adept in handling DUI cases and establishing a strong defense can make the biggest difference. Their guidance can help the people accused of DUI or DWI in formulating the right decisions based on their situations.
Locally, Bergen County residents can rely on the assistance of a legal professional in evaluating their cases and determining which option best fits their cases.
Source: Go.com, "New Jersey man arrested for DUI 3 times in same week," Feb. 24, 2014