Serving Clients Throughout New Jersey

Will I Lose My Commercial Driver’s License If I Get a DUI?

Will I Lose My Commercial Driver’s License If I Get a DUI?

Commercial motor vehicle (CMV) drivers face much more severe penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) than the average passenger vehicle driver. Likely, this severity is the result of the vehicles they drive. CMVs such as big rigs can weigh anywhere from 10,000 to 80,000 pounds. If a driver loses control of a CMV, he or she can cause extensive amounts of damage to other drivers and property.

A CMV driver who is convicted of a serious driving violation, including a DUI, can have their regular license suspended for up to 12 months and their commercial driver’s license (CDL) suspended for up to a year also. A 2nd conviction in a passenger vehicle or CMV will result in a 2-year basic driver’s license suspension and a permanently revoked CDL.

New Jersey law does allow the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission to issue rules and regulations establishing guidelines and conditions under which a lifetime suspension could be reduced to a period of not less than 10 years, but you would need to consult an attorney about this possibility.

A conviction of a DUI could not only mean the temporary loss of your income, but it could prevent you from getting a similar driving job in the future. Make sure you do your best to avoid a conviction by talking to one of our skilled Bergen County DUI attorneys. Brickfield & Donahue is dedicated to providing knowledgeable and aggressive representation to our clients. We have decades of proven experience and result to offer your case. Let us see what our highly rated attorneys can do to defend your rights and freedom.

Contact us at (201) 574-7919 or fill out our online form to schedule your free case consultation today.

Categories