A Guide to DWI License Suspensions in New Jersey
Arguably one of the most devastating consequences of an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is the resulting driver’s license suspension. As if the threat of criminal consequences and expensive fines were not reason to worry enough, losing one’s driving privileges can be devastating to a person’s mobility and hinder their ability to travel to places such as work, school, medical appointments, and more.
In the state of New Jersey, driver’s license suspensions for drunk driving convictions vary in length depending on the level of a driver’s intoxication and their history of prior convictions. A first offense DUI/DWI conviction with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.10% or greater will result in a driver’s license suspension of 7 months to 1 year, while first-time convictions with a BAC of between 0.08% and 0.10% result in a lesser 3 month suspension. A second driving convictions within 10 years will be punished much more harshly, resulting in a 2 year license suspension. If convicted of a third offense within 10 years of the second offense, a person can face a staggering 10 year suspension. These license suspensions are automatic if a driver refuses to submit to a chemical test.
How Can I Get My License Back?
Once your driver’s license is suspended, the only way to restore your driving privileges is to wait out the period of time that is decided by the state of New Jersey. While many other states allow hardship licenses or work licenses that give drivers the ability to legally drive to and from places such as work and school, New Jersey does not allow these types of temporary permits after a drunk driving conviction. To get your driver’s license back, you must faithfully fulfill the terms of your suspension, pay all mandatory fines and fees, and submit a proof of ticket payment to the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). You will also be required to complete a DUI program and pay a license reinstatement fee. Once all of these requirements are met, your license will be restored.
It is important to note that if you commit a traffic offense within six months of restoring your license, your license may be suspended again for a period of 90 days. A second offense within six months will result in a 180 day suspension.
Call Brickfield & Donahue Today
If you have been charged with DUI/DWI and are facing a license suspension, it is imperative you retain the services of a knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights and maximize your chances of securing a favorable outcome. At Brickfield & Donahue, our Bergen County DWI lawyers have more than 55 years of combined experience defending the rights of accused drivers and can provide the powerful advocacy you need to guard your right to drive.
Call (201) 574-7919 or schedule a no-cost, no-obligation case review today to find out more about how we can assist you.