The badges presented below are indicative of ratings presented through different sources who utilize different rating and selection processes. No aspect of these advertisements are approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. It’s also important to share the process by which these ratings are assigned/applied, and each are shared below.
Former Prosecutors Turned
Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers
New Jersey Implied Consent Laws
Arrested? Call our Bergen County DUI Attorney Today!
New Jersey law states that drivers are required to take a breath test if they are arrested for a DWI or DUI. Under implied consent laws, the fact that you were lawfully arrested gives the officer enough probable cause to have you undergo a breath test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC).
If you’ve been arrested for a DWI/DUI, the consequences you face can seriously threaten your rights and liberties. At Brickfield & Donahue, our trusted legal professionals have more than 55 years of combined experience defending clients from a wide range of criminal matters, including DUIs and DWIs. New Jersey’s penalties for driving while intoxicated are among the toughest in the nation – it’s absolutely crucial that you surround yourself with a defense team who will work tirelessly to protect your future.
Learn how Brickfield & Donahue can help today. Call (201) 574-7919 to begin building your defense.
Can I refuse to take a mandatory DWI test?
If you’ve been arrested, the arresting officer will have you take a breath test – he or she should also tell you your rights as well as the penalties if you choose to refuse to take the test. Under these circumstances, it usually does not help you to refuse a chemical test after a DWI or DUI arrest, but it’s important to note that refusing to take the test does not guarantee a conviction. Our attorneys are highly skilled defending clients against even the toughest DWI/DUI cases, and you can trust that we will go the extra mile to ensure we build the best case possible on your behalf.
Penalties for refusing a mandatory breath test can include:
- First offense: 7 month license revocation
- Second offense: 2 year license revocation
- Third offense: 10 year license revocation
Get Help Today! Contact us to Schedule a Free Consultation
There are few things more frightening than being faced with a serious criminal matter. Whether you’ve been arrested for your first, second, or third offense, our approach remains the same – we take the time to get to know our clients and craft personalized defense strategies that are tailor-made to suit each individual need. Because our Bergen County DWI lawyers understand that legal emergencies can unexpectedly arise at any given moment, our phones are answered 24/7. Put your trust in our trial-tested approach today.
To begin discussing your legal options, contact us today to schedule a free consultation.