The badges presented below are indicative of ratings presented through different sources who utilize different rating and selection processes. No aspect of these advertisements are approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. It’s also important to share the process by which these ratings are assigned/applied, and each are shared below.
Former Prosecutors Turned
Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers
Our Bergen County DUI Attorneys Can Help Defend Your Rights
New Jersey is a zero-tolerance state, meaning if a person under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.01% or higher and is operating a vehicle, the driver can be cited for driving under the influence (DUI). While the punishments are typically less harsh than the average DUI charge, a person still might face jail time, community service, and substantial fines.
If your child is facing an underage DUI charge, talk to one of our skilled DUI attorneys. Brickfield & Donahue is a firm dedicated to defending the rights and freedoms of our clients. Someone under the age of 21 who drinks and drives could also be facing a number of other charges, including the following:
- Minor in possession
- Soliciting alcohol
- Distributing alcohol to other minors
- Child endangerment law violations
- Moving and vehicle maintenance violations
- Possession of false identification
Your child could be facing significant penalties if convicted. Make sure they have the best chance of staying out of jail and avoiding hefty fines.
Get your case started by calling us at (201) 574-7919 or filling out our online form today!
If someone under the age of 21 is caught behind the wheel while intoxicated, he or she will be charged with a DUI. If convicted, he or she will face any or all of the following punishments:
- Loss or postponement of driving privileges for 30 to 90 days
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program
- Imprisonment from 2 to 90 days
- A $500 to $1,000 fine
The penalties tend to be more severe the higher the BAC was at the time of arrest. For example, if a law enforcement officer administered a breathalyzer test, and the BAC showed 0.10% or more, you are more likely to experience harsher punishments. If this is the 2nd time someone has been charged with a DUI within 10 years, he or she could face up to 1 year in jail, license suspension for 2 years, and a fine ranging from $500 to $2,000.
In addition, if your child is convicted, his or her insurance company might terminate his or her policy. Others might refuse to renew the policy once it expires. Many other companies merely raise the cost of the monthly premium by $100 to $200 for who they consider a higher risk driver.
Call Our Skilled Attorney Today!
If your child is facing a DUI charge, make sure to give them their best chance at a good defense. Talk to one of our experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorneys. Our founding attorneys, Paul B. Brickfield and Joseph R. Donahue, are passionate advocates for preserving our clients’ rights and interests. We provide the highest standards of legal care, being courteous and highly responsive to the people we help. Our attorneys are also former prosecutors, so they understand how the opposition thinks. When we take a case, our objective is to do what is best for our clients. We will always try to get a case dismissed or an acquittal when possible. However, if this is not achieved, we will seek to minimize any criminal or collateral consequences through all possible legal means. Let us see what we can do for you by examining your case.
Contact us at (201) 574-7919 or fill out our online form to schedule a FREE case consultation today.