The badges presented below are indicative of ratings presented through different sources who utilize different rating and selection processes. No aspect of these advertisements are approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. It’s also important to share the process by which these ratings are assigned/applied, and each are shared below.
Former Prosecutors Turned
Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers
Bergen County Vehicular Homicide Lawyers
55+ Years of Combined Experience Defending the Accused
Vehicular homicide, also known as “vehicular manslaughter” or “death by auto,” occurs when a person drives a car in a reckless or careless manner and causes the death of another person. In the state of New Jersey, vehicular homicide is classified as a second degree felony and can expose a defendant to life-changing consequences upon conviction. If you have been charged with vehicular manslaughter, you need a fighter in your corner who can protect you against the prosecution’s claims and minimize your chances of conviction. You need a powerful Bergen County vehicular homicide attorney from Brickfield & Donahue on your side.
As former prosecutors ourselves, our team of aggressive advocates understand the road ahead and can use our invaluable insight to give you a fighting chance against your charges. We truly believe you are innocent until proven guilty, and we are prepared to do everything within our power to defend your rights during this frightening time.
Our numerous awards and professional accomplishments speak for themselves:
- Prestigious Super Lawyers® inclusion
- AV® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell® for ethics and skill
- The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 ranking
- 10.0 “Superb” Avvo Rating
Facing charges for vehicular homicide? Make sure your future is in good hands – schedule a free case review today to get started.
An Overview of New Jersey Vehicular Homicide Law
Even if a driver may have never intended to harm another person, they may still face stiff criminal consequences if the courts deem their actions reckless. Under New Jersey Criminal Code 2C:11-5, a person acts recklessly behind the wheel when they “consciously disregard a substantial risk and their actions are a gross deviation from a reasonable person acting with ordinary care.” Acts typically seen as reckless under this loose definition include driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving while sleep deprived, racing, tailgating, texting while driving, or speeding.
Penalties for vehicular homicide in New Jersey include:
- Between 5 and 10 years in state prison
- Fines up to $150,000
- A minimum 5 years to lifetime driver’s license suspension
A vehicular homicide charge be escalated to a first degree felony and carry an additional 10 years in prison upon conviction if the fatal collision occurred in close proximity of a school, regardless of whether or not children were present at the time of the crash.
Trust in a Firm with a Proven History of Success
With such high stakes, these types of charges require the skills of a trial-tested Bergen County vehicular homicide attorney in order to be successfully defended against. Having successfully defended countless clients against their criminal accusations, our firm’s top-rated criminal defense lawyers in Bergen County can review the specifics of your situation and craft a custom-tailored strategy on your behalf, ensuring your rights will be protected throughout all stages of your case. With personalized, one-on-one involvement and responsive communication, we will keep you informed of all important developments in your case and explore every opportunity to secure a reduction or dismissal of your charges.
You do not have to plead guilty – call our Bergen County vehicular homicide lawyer at (201) 574-7919 today to begin building your defense.