The badges presented below are indicative of ratings presented through different sources who utilize different rating and selection processes. No aspect of these advertisements are approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. It’s also important to share the process by which these ratings are assigned/applied, and each are shared below.
Former Prosecutors Turned
Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers
Assault by Auto Charges
Bergen County Criminal Defense Lawyers – (201) 574-7919
The act of recklessly operating a motor vehicle or boat and causing injury to another person is a criminal offense in the state of New Jersey chargeable as assault by auto. Commonly charged in connection with incidents of driving while intoxicated (DWI), assault by auto may be charged as either a disorderly persons offense or a felony and can expose a defendant to serious criminal penalties upon conviction.
If you or a loved one has been charged with assault by auto, it is imperative you contact the aggressive advocates at Brickfield & Donahue as soon as possible to protect your freedom. With more than 55 years of combined legal experience, our team of powerful Bergen County criminal defense attorneys can help you respond to your charges and minimize your chances of conviction.
Why choose Brickfield & Donahue? Consider the following:
- AV Preeminent® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell® for ethics and skill
- 10.0 “Superb” Rating on Avvo for client satisfaction
- The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 ranking
- Proven history of case victories
You do not have to plead guilty. Contact us today to get started towards building your defense.
Penalties for Assault by Auto in New Jersey
Like most charges that carry serious consequences, the state must prove all elements of its charge against you beyond a reasonable doubt in order to secure your conviction. This includes proving that you were operating a vehicle at the time of the offense, that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was above the legal limit or that you were otherwise impaired, that you caused an accident, and that the collision caused injury to another person. Assault by auto charges are categorized into several different “grades” based on the level of bodily injury inflicted. Causing minor cuts and bruises may be classified disorderly persons offense, while more serious injuries may trigger fourth, third, or even second degree felony charges.
At maximum, you could face the following penalties:
- Up to 10 years in state prison
- Fines up to $150,000
- A permanent felony record
Due to the many elements needed to be proven by prosecution, there are several defenses that may be employed on your behalf to defeat your charges. Our team of attorneys can sift through the facts surrounding your collision with a fine toothed comb and ensure no stone is left unturned in your defense.
Assault by Auto Defense Lawyer in Bergen County
An assault by auto charge can turn your life upside down in an instant. At Brickfield & Donahue, our Bergen County criminal defense attorneys understand the severity of your situation and are equipped with the vast legal knowledge and skills to give you a fighting chance against the prosecution’s claims. As former prosecutors turned criminal trial lawyers, we are intimately familiar with the opposition’s strategies and can use our invaluable insight to stay one step ahead at all times. Your future is far too important to leave up to chance. Contact us today to make sure your case is in good hands.
Dial (201) 574-7919 to find out more about how we can assist you.