The badges presented below are indicative of ratings presented through different sources who utilize different rating and selection processes. No aspect of these advertisements are approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. It’s also important to share the process by which these ratings are assigned/applied, and each are shared below.
Former Prosecutors Turned
Certified Criminal Trial Lawyers
Multiple DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer in Bergen County
Get a Trial-Tested Team of Super Lawyers® on Your Side
While any charge of driving while intoxicated (DWI/DUI) in New Jersey is a serious matter, a defendant can face even greater penalties if they are charged with a repeat drunk driving offense. If you have been charged with a second, third, fourth, or even fifth drunk driving offense, it is urgent you contact an aggressive Bergen County DUI lawyer from Brickfield & Donahue at once to protect yourself against serious consequences. Backed by a 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating and an inclusion on The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 list for our unmatched knowledge and skill, our team of advocates can contest the evidence against you and maximize your chances of securing a favorable outcome for your situation.
Discuss your charges with us for free during a confidential case review.
Repeat DUI/DWI Penalties in New Jersey
New Jersey has a 10 year “look back” period in regards to sentencing for drunk driving charges, meaning that any DUI/DWI convictions occurring within the past 10 years will be considered prior offenses. Likewise, penalties for repeat offenses are not defined based on varying blood alcohol concentrations (BAC). In other words, a conviction of second-offense DUI with a BAC of 0.08% will bring the same penalties as one of 0.12%.
Penalties for a Second DUI/DWI
- Between 2 to 90 days jail time
- Between $500 and $1,000 in fines
- A minimum 2-year driver’s license suspension
- 30 days of community service
- 12-48 hours of mandatory alcohol treatment
- Up to $3,000 in auto insurance surcharges
Penalties for a Third or Subsequent DUI/DWI
- 180 days of jail time
- Minimum $1,000 fine
- 10-year driver’s license suspension
- Up to 90 days of community service
- Up to $4,500 in auto insurance surcharges
In addition to the above penalties, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle and pay at least $500 in court fees. Penalties may also increase if you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test at the time of your arrest.
Let a Team of Former Prosecutors Defend You
With stakes this high, you cannot afford to leave your future in the hands of an inexperienced public defender. As former prosecutors, our team of Bergen County criminal defense lawyers at Brickfield & Donahue understand the prosecution’s strategies and can use our invaluable insight to counter the prosecution’s claims, allowing you to rest easy knowing your rights are protected every step of the way. As shown by our many positive client testimonials and proven history of success, we have what it takes to minimize your chances of conviction and get you through this difficult time as smoothly as possible.
Call us today at (201) 574-7919 to take the first step towards retaining the powerful representation you deserve.