Handling Your DUI with a Past Conviction
Most people worry about being pulled over for a DUI for the 1st time, never mind the 2nd or 3rd time. Those who have been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in the past have the most to worry about, as criminal conviction of each subsequent DUI increases the punishment level. A 2nd, 3rd, or even 4th conviction means offenders are afforded far less leniency by the court. These cases tend to be far more complex and require the expertise of an experienced Bergen County DUI attorney.
Penalties for Repeat DUI Offenses
In the state of New Jersey, a 2nd DUI can lead to up to 90 days in jail, fines ranging between $500 and $1,000, license suspension for up to 2 years, and potentially an ignition interlock (IID) installation in your car. A 3rd conviction could lead up to 180 days in jail, a fine up to $1,000, up to 10 years of license suspension, and potentially an IID installation in your car.
Likewise, drunk driving arrests of any amount require up to almost $500 in fees owed to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. You will need to pay to restore your vehicle, pay for an intoxicated driver program, pay state and municipality fees, and so on.
The best way to proceed in a case involving a prior conviction is to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. When arrested, exercise your right to remain silent and contact one of our lawyers at Brickfield & Donahue. You will need a strong defense that can match the skill of the prosecution and can present arguments necessary to defeat your charges. Our defense lawyers are passionate advocates for the preservation of our client’s rights and freedom. Let us offer our courteous, client-centric service.
Contact us at (201) 574-7919 or fill out our online form to schedule your free case consultation today.