Millions of Americans Drive Under the Influence of Pot
According to a recent report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), approximately 12 million Americans admit to driving under the influence (DUI) of marijuana in 2018. In addition, about 2.3 million claimed they operated a vehicle while under the influence of cocaine, methamphetamine, and other drugs.
If you break those numbers down to percentages, 4.7 percent of Americans drive while under the influence of cannabis and 0.9 percent drive under the influence of other illicit substances. However, both percentages are significant minor in comparison to those who said they operated a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
More male drivers admit to using pot or illicit drugs than their female counterparts. Those who admit to consuming or smoking marijuana before getting behind the wheel belong in the 21-25 age group, whine the 16-20 age group—the youngest to obtain a driver’s license—is the second highest.
While medical marijuana is legal in New Jersey, recreational use, possession, sale, and cultivation are still against the law. Regardless of driving under the influence of any legal or illegal drug can lead to DUI charges.
Drugged driving in New Jersey is punishable by the same penalties as drunk driving. For example, a first offense carries a maximum 30-day jail sentence, fines of up to $400, and driver’s license revocation for up to three months.
Currently, there aren’t any field tests law enforcement officials use to properly detect cannabis intoxication. However, officers may ask a drug recognition expert (DRE)—who specializes in recognizing signs of drug impairment—to determine whether or not a driver is under the influence of marijuana or another drug.
If you have been charged with a DUI for drugged driving in Bergen County, contact Brickfield & Donahue at (201) 574-7919 and schedule a free consultation today.