Serving Clients Throughout New Jersey

Blog

Welcome to Our Blog

  • Is Buzzed Driving Drunk Driving?

    In the United States, most everyone knows that driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher is illegal. Alcohol consumption impairs your thinking, reasoning, and muscle coordination, which are all vital when operating a vehicle. This law is put in place for the safety of everyone who is on the road. But is it the same for buzzed driving? Consider this hypothetical scenario: After ...
    Continue Reading
  • What you Need to Know About New Jersey's Open Container Law

    Every driver should be aware that driving under the influence of alcohol is illegal. However, the laws behind open containers are less obvious, which can get people into legal trouble if it’s ever found in their vehicle. If you get pulled over, and there’s a half-full bottle of alcohol in the backseat, it won’t matter if you exclaim, “I didn’t drink any!” to the police officer. Today, our DUI ...
    Continue Reading
  • What is the Age of Consent in New Jersey?

    The age of consent in New Jersey is 16 years old, meaning that anyone who is at least 16 years of age can legally consent to sexual activity with another adult—no matter what age. In addition, a person who is at least 13 years old can consent to sexual intercourse with anyone who is at most four years older, allowing minors below the age of consent—but who are also close in age—to have consensual ...
    Continue Reading
  • Millions of Americans Drive Under the Influence of Pot

    According to a recent report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), approximately 12 million Americans admit to driving under the influence ( DUI ) of marijuana in 2018. In addition, about 2.3 million claimed they operated a vehicle while under the influence of cocaine, methamphetamine, and other drugs. If you break those numbers down to percentages, 4.7 percent of Americans ...
    Continue Reading
  • Hate Crimes in New Jersey

    In recent years, hate crime allegations have substantially increased and garnered national media attention. Consequently, New Jersey courts are being more conscientious than before about bringing such charges against an individual. A hate crime is described as any criminal offense that targets a person due to their race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, religion, or disability. Prosecutors ...
    Continue Reading
  • Don’t Be Accused of a Sex Crime at Your Work Holiday Party

    Every year, companies throughout the United States celebrate another year of success and the festive season by hosting a holiday party. These celebrations often consist of delicious food being served, an open bar with a significant amount of alcohol, as well as loud music and a dance floor to keep the party going until the early morning hours. In recent years, however, many employers have either ...
    Continue Reading
  • How Police Detect Drunk Drivers

    In order to make a traffic stop for suspected DUI , law enforcement must have “reasonable suspicion” that a crime has occurred, is currently happening, or will happen soon. But what makes officers initially become suspicious? Remember, the police do not have the right to just stop a vehicle based on a gut feeling or hunch. Rather, they must have a reason to pull someone over, often established by ...
    Continue Reading
  • What Factors Affect Your BAC Level?

    After a DUI arrest, police officers will ask you to take a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) or the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream. If your BAC level is at least .08 percent, you can be charged with drunk driving in New Jersey. There are several factors that affect a person’s BAC, which include the following: Body type – In general, the more a person weighs, the ...
    Continue Reading
  • When Can the Police Pull You Over for Suspected DUI?

    The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) compiled a list that consists of more than 100 visual cues to help law enforcement identify suspected drunk drivers. The list is broken down into four distinct categories: speed and braking problems, judgment issues, vigilance problems, and issues staying within a driving lane. Speed & Braking Problems Intoxicated motorists experience ...
    Continue Reading
  • How to Dress for Criminal Court

    If you are scheduled to appear in court for an alleged criminal offense, one of the things you must prepare for is what to wear. Since defendants often never testify at trial, how you dress shows how much you respect the court and that you take the charges against you seriously. Both men and women should dress conservatively like they are going to work, a religious service, or an otherwise formal ...
    Continue Reading
  • New Jersey Self-Defense Laws

    If you have been accused of violent crime such as assault or murder and you were protecting yourself or another person from unlawful use of force or imminent danger, you may claim self-defense to avoid being convicted. Every person has a right to protect themselves from harm, serious bodily injury, or death. The following are three elements a case must have for the defendant to successfully ...
    Continue Reading
  • Can Convicted Felons Vote in New Jersey?

    The United States is a democratic country that grants every citizen voting rights, enabling them to elect officials who represent their beliefs and vote in policies that benefit their lives. Next November, millions of Americans will determine who will serve the next four years as the U.S. president. As long as you are 18 years of age or older, been a state resident for at least 30 days before the ...
    Continue Reading
  • What Is Restitution?

    A conviction for a criminal offense—whether it’s a misdemeanor or felony—often results in jail time or imprisonment and fines. Additionally, the court can order the defendant to pay restitution to the victims of the alleged crime. While fines and restitution are both financial costs the defendant is responsible for, the former is paid to the court as a punishment and the latter is given to the ...
    Continue Reading
  • Can I Go on Vacation While on Probation in NJ?

    A conviction can result in a wide variety of punishments, including probation . There are several conditions a person must follow when sentenced to probation, such as travel restrictions. So, what happens when the family plans to take a trip to another state or country? If you are on probation in New Jersey, are you allowed to join your loved ones on vacation? The answer is that you must obtain ...
    Continue Reading
  • Aggravated DUI in New Jersey

    A first-time DUI conviction in New Jersey is punishable by a fine of up to $400, license suspension for up to three months, and a maximum 30-day jail sentence. However, even a first offense can lead to increased penalties—or even a felony charge—if certain aggravating factors exist in the case. Common factors of aggravated DUI in New Jersey include: High BAC – To be found guilty of a DUI, the ...
    Continue Reading
Page of 40